ment; the natural resources of Saskatchewan and their industrial possibilities; such other matters as may be related to industrial development.

Alberta Bureau of Labour.—The Act of 1922, creating the Alberta Bureau of Labour, provided that the Bureau be in charge of a Minister having under him a Commissioner of Labour. The latter is empowered to collect and publish information and statistics affecting labour, and to administer such Acts as may be assigned to the Bureau by Order in Council. Important among these Acts are the Alberta Government Employment Bureau Act, the Minimum Wage Act, the Boilers Act, the Factories Act and the Theatres Act. The Bureau issues annual reports.

The British Columbia Department of Labour.—This Department was instituted by an Act of 1917, under a Minister and Deputy Minister of Labour. It administers the laws of British Columbia affecting labour, and is empowered to collect information respecting industries, wages, employment, prices, labour organization and other data pertaining to labour problems. Prominent among the Acts under the jurisdiction of the Department are the Minimum Wage Act for female employees, the Male Minimum Wage Act (passed in 1925), the Hours of Work Act, the Semi-Monthly Payment of Wages Act and the Factories Act; it also operates the employment bureaus within the province. The Deputy Minister of Labour is ex-officio Chairman of the Board of Adjustment under the Hours of Work Act of 1923, which, with exceptions, provides for the eight-hour working day in industry and is also charged with the duty of administering the Male Minimum Wage Act. Annual reports are published by the Department, containing much information respecting labour matters.

Section 4.—Canada and the International Labour Organization.¹

The International Labour Organization of the League of Nations was set up in accordance with Part XIII of the Treaties of Peace, to promote the improvement of industrial conditions by legislative action and international agreement.

The Organization comprises the permanent International Labour Office in Geneva, Switzerland, and the International Labour Conference, which meets annually and is composed of four representatives of each Member State, two of whom are Government delegates, while two represent the employers and the employed respectively. Fifty-five countries are members of the International Labour Organization, including all of the important industrial countries of the world except the United States.

The International Labour Office functions as a secretariat of the annual conference, and also collects and publishes information on subjects relating to industrial life and labour. The Office is under the control of a Governing Body consisting of 24 persons appointed by the International Labour Conference, of whom 12 represent Governments, 6 represent employers and 6 represent workers. In addition to its control of the Labour Office, the Governing Body is charged with the preparation of the agenda of the annual conference.

Under the terms of the Peace Treaties, eight of the government seats on the Governing Body are held by the countries of "chief industrial importance." Canada was designated by the Council of the League of Nations as one of the eight states

On this subject see also 1921 Year Book, pp. 607-509; 1921-23 Year Book, pp. 701-707; 1924 Year Book, pp. 660-870; 1925 Year Book, pp. 676-678; 1926 Year Book, pp. 679-881; 1927-28 Year Book, pp. 735-737.